Picture


I make jewellery that is inspired by books, poetry and music, and also lampshades with old maps and music paper. I enjoy using vintage and reclaimed materials that would otherwise be discarded, finding value and beauty in rescued treasures.

Picture
My favourite book of all time is 'The Secret Garden', and I often use text from that book in my pieces. "The Magic is in me ... it's in every one of us ..." is a wonderful inspiration.

Words, written as well as spoken, are sound energy and carry meaning beyond the immediate word. For me, using text, poetry and music in my work adds to the heart and soul of each piece.

Picture
This is one of my favourite pieces, created with text from an Emily Bronte poem, a reclaimed buckle and a little gold heart. 

I'm also very proud of the bracelet that I designed to raise money for my sister's charity in Canada, 'Spectrum Society Supporting Mothers'.

Picture
This 'Home Sweet Eco Home' lampshade is made with old sheet music paper. I collect falling apart music books and give the paper a new lease of life.

The first one I made was for my daughter for her Reiki practice. The music included lyrics and she says that as the light shines through, the energy of the words is carried out into the room.

Picture
The best thing about what I do is when the person who buys my work has a personal response and an emotional connection to a particular piece.


It's wonderful to hear the story behind someone's decision to buy something, or to get a special commission to create something unique and meaningful.




Gilli
6/29/2013 11:06:07 pm

Very lovely jewellery, I like everything about it. The use of text, the sentiments behind the words, the subtle use of materials, and the beauty and delicacy of the results.

Reply
6/30/2013 07:51:28 pm

Thank you Gilli for your lovely comments, much appreciated!

Reply



Leave a Reply.