Picture
I have always had a love for art and anything creative...even as a young child. I attended private art classes in my village during my childhood learning about design and composition in different mediums, working with stone, clay, paint, pencil and ink and thoroughly enjoying every minute! 


After taking my O'level and A'level art I wanted to go to Art college but my parents didn't think is was a good idea! Now, thirty years on after working in London, having children and acquiring several pets over the years, I live with my musician partner and three children in my Grandparents house overlooking the North Cornwall coast. I am now back at college studying A'level Textiles and loving it!! It means my work is always evolving.

Picture
I have always been interested in textiles and stitch, although I hated needlework at school! But through hours of stitching and unpicking, hours of thinking about design ideas, I have learnt how to sew!

Picture
My work is inspired by found fragments of vintage lace, material and old books that I source from jumble sales, vintage fairs and that I am also given to me by kind friends. By putting these elements together, I create compositions of work that result in an interesting mixed media piece where no two pieces are the same.

Picture
Working as an artist I have the freedom to do what I like! To be creative every day and to do a job I really love! To work when I want and to enjoy the flexibility that working at home brings. 
I spend most weekends at Vintage or Craft fairs selling my work and promoting my business which also keeps me connected with the public. And I think it's always good to let people see the artist behind the work. It makes the work more personal.


I have several exhibitions lined up for the next year which is really exciting! Watch this space!!





Leave a Reply.